Review of constitutional arrangements for the Belyuen Community Government Council's electoral representation

	Consideration in accordance with regulation 63(2) of the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations 2008	Assessment of the effectiveness of constitutional arrangements for electoral representation of the council's area		
	63(2)(a) – community interests in the local government area including economic, social and regional interests	The Belyuen community is represented by seven clan groups: Emmi; Wadjiginy; Kiuk; Malak-Malak; Mendtha; Marriamu; and Maranunggu. The Traditional Owners for Kenbi (the land surrounding Belyuen) on the Peninsula are Larrakia.		
		There are 134 enrolled voters in the Belyuen Community Government Council (the Council) area as at 4 May 2020 (Northern Territory Electoral Commission). The Council area is a single electorate and does not have any wards. The councillors are:		
		 Zoe Singh (President) Rex Edmunds (Deputy President) Cecilia Lewis John Moreen Rex Sing. 		
1.		The Australian Bureau of Statistics' (ABS) Socio-Economic Indexes for Australia (SEIFA) ranks areas in Australia according to relative socio-economic advantage and disadvantage. The most recent SEIFA (2016), under its local government area index of relative socio-economic disadvantage, ranks the Council as the second most disadvantaged council in Australia and the most disadvantaged council in the Northern Territory.		
		In the face of this significant socio-economic disadvantage, the Council has been providing a range of community services in addition to the core local government services. The Council, on behalf of its residents, strives for job and income security, food security, clean community spaces, and transport maintenance services. In addition, the Council collaborates with other agencies delivering health and Medicare services, aged care services, education cultural programs, Centrelink services, and other services that protect the basic needs and wellbeing of its residents.		
		Since September 2017, the Council and the Coomalie Community Government Council have been in discussions on a proposal towards a long-term sustainable regional council model. Both councils		



		have the view that a strong rural-based council is essential for the sustainable delivery of local governance and services into the future.							
2.	63(2)(b) – types of communication and travel in the local government area with special reference to disabilities arising out of remoteness or distance	The Belyuen community is located on the eastern side of Cox Peninsula, about 20 kilometres southwest of the Darwin CBD. It is approximately 128 kilometres by road from Darwin via the Stuart Highway and Cox Peninsula Road. There is no regular public transport service by road to the community.							
		Alternatively, a ferry trip from Darwin (Cullen Bay) to Mandorah Wharf takes approximately 15 minutes with a further 15 minutes road travel to Belyuen. There is no regular transport service from the ferry terminal at Mandorah to Belyuen. As such, residents and visitors must make their own travel arrangements to the community.							
		The Council is responsible for 84.05 kilometres of road comprising of 2.35 kilometres of sealed road, 14 kilometres of formed road and 67.7 kilometres of unformed road (Local Government Grants Commission, 2019).							
3.	63(2)(c) – the trend of population changes in the local government area	The Belyuen community has a transient population of individuals and / or families moving between Belyuen, Bagot, One Mile Dam, Minmarama, 15 Mile, and Palmerston. According to the ABS 2018 Population data, the population of the Council area has decreased from 213 in 2013 to 174 in 2018. The population trend in the community is shown in the table below:							
			2013	2014	2015	2016	2017	2018	
		Males (total number)	117	116	117	96	99	101	
		Females (total number)	96	95	92	82	76	73	
		Persons (total number)	213	211	209	178	175	174	
		Median age (years)	30.3	31.3	31.2	32.5	31.1	31.0	
		Working age population – 15 to 64 years (%)	67.6	69.2	67.9	82.6	76.6	77.6	
4.	63(2)(d) – the density of population in the local government area	The population density in the Council area is 4.18 persons per square kilometre.							



5. 63(2)(e) – the physical features of the local government area

The Council encompasses a total area of 41.6 km².

The Council area is surrounded by unincorporated land.

This report has been prepared with reference to information provided by the Northern Territory Electoral Commission.

Having given proper consideration to all matters relevant to the constitutional arrangements for electoral representation in accordance with the *Local Government Act 2008* and *Local Government (Electoral) Regulations 2008*, Council resolved at their 28th July 2020 meeting <8.1.7.20> that the current constitutional arrangements still provide effective electoral representation and that there be no proposed changes to the current constitutional arrangements.

