Glenfarg Village Hall - AGM 22 August 2018

Agenda Item	<u>Minute</u>	Action
Present:	Cedric Wilkins, Kerry Davidson, Robert Morton, Christine Morton, Kareen McGregor, Robin Watson, Mac Stewart, Jean Andrew, Tanya McKibbon, Mark Crossey, John Armstrong, Jim Eodanable, Ross Blaikie Plus 15 attendees	
	M: 4 6 : 40M (40 0 4 1 0 0 4 1	
Minutes of previous AGM	Minutes of previous AGM (13 September 2017) approved.	
Chairman's report	 Ced gave the committee an overview of the Chairman's report to be contained in the annual accounts. The hall remains well used by the community. The pop-up pub events continue and the new community café has meant the meeting room is used more. Hall rents were raised by £2 for non-regular users and users are now charged in advance of use which has reduced debts. Tim stood down as Property Convenor during the year and Ced thanked him for his years of service. Ced thanked the committee for their efforts, particularly Kareen and Tanya for helping to ensure the smooth running of the hall. 	
Treasurer's report	 Jean gave the committee an overview of the accounts for the year ended 31 March 2018, including: The year ended with a small loss of £774, Lets were up by 2.5%, largely as a result of increased rental income, and income from the coffee lounge has helped. The accounts include an accrual for legal fees of £2,943.40 incurred by Morton Fraser, re change of trustee in 2013 (see SCIO minutes below). Maintenance costs were lower than the previous year. Costs relating to insurance and electricity were also lower. The debtors figure has gone down due to Tanya's good credit control. The bank balance has increased from £21,068 to £24,208. Jean feels the hall is working well and offering a good service for the community. Margaret Ponton asked about the £23 remaining of the Lochelbank grant for the coffee lounge. Ced explained the final report outlining how the money had been used was 	

	yet to be drafted and any money remaining unspent would be returned to Lochelbank.	
Approval of Trustees Report and Annual Accounts	 Jim moved to approve the accounts and Robert seconded them. David Johnston was reappointed as the Independent Examiner for the annual accounts (nominated by Ced and seconded by Jean). Ced thanked him for his efforts, as well and Jean and Tanya. 	
Motion to approve plans to reorganise the charity to a SCIO	 Ced outlined the background to the proposed hall SCIO reorganisation. Benefits include improved efficiency, limited liability for committee members, and would enable application to Land fund for funding to buy the schoolhouse. In order to move to a SCIO, and following legal advice and consultation with OSCR, it was agreed to pay a disputed outstanding debt to current trustee Capita incurred during the transfer of the hall from the previous trustee. Arngask Hall (operating as Glenfarg Village Hall) has been registered as a new charity name. Following the change anyone over 16 who lives in the bounds of the Glenfarg Community Council area will be able to apply (free of charge) for membership of the hall. Details of the changes and the new constitution will be communicated to the community on Glenfarg.org and the Glenfarg Grapevine. Comments will be invited. The motion was proposed by Tim and seconded by John. The committee and 15 attendees voted on the motion which was approved with 23 votes for and 4 abstentions. There were no votes against. 	Ced / Janet Watson
Motion to approve plans to acquire the Schoolhouse, Greenbank Road, Glenfarg	 The purchase of the Schoolhouse is only possible with Scottish Land Fund money which it is hoped will provide 95% of the purchase price. Stage 1 proposal has been approved and Stage 2 is underway but requires much more detail on plans. A SLF representative has visited the hall and was impressed by the possibilities. Margaret Ponton raised concerns regarding current inefficient heating and lighting in the hall and the ability to fund fixing these issues while funding the new schoolhouse project. The meeting agreed there were issues within these areas but felt these could be dealt with within the wider project. Steve Whiting gave his support to the proposal and suggested that should a new village pub be created. funds raised by this could possibly be 	

	used to support the proposed 'Village Centre' in the future. • The motion was proposed by John and seconded by Jim. • The committee and 15 attendees voted on the motion which was approved with 24 for and 3 abstentions. There were no votes against.
Election of Office Bearers and Committee Members	 All members of the committee stood down. The meeting re-elected Cedric Wilkins as Chairman. John McKibbon had indicated that he did not wish to seek re-election as Property Convenor. The meeting elected John Armstrong as Property Convenor. Kerry Davidson had indicated that she did not wish to seek re-election as Secretary. The meeting elected Gillian Forbes as Secretary. Jean Andrew had indicated that she did not wish to seek re-election as Treasurer. The meeting elected Ross Blaikie as Treasurer. Robert Morton, Christine Morton, Jim Eodanable, Robin Watson, Mark Crossey, Freya Corcoran and Hazell Allan were elected as committee members. There was a vote of thanks to Mac Stewart for serving as a committee member. Hazell Allen highlighted a possible conflict of interest with her work on the Lochelbank funding committee but it was agreed this could be dealt with on an issue-by-issue basis.
AOB	The Chair thanked Kerry and Jean for their service as Secretary and Treasurer over many years; and made a presentation on behalf of the committee. A presentation was also made to Tim and John McKibbon for their service as Property Convenor.
Dates of future meetings	Meetings will be held on 28 Nov 2018, 6 Mar 2019, 19 Jun 2019 and 28 Aug 2019 (AGM) – all Wednesdays at 7.30pm in the meeting room.